Deconstructed Taco

I don’t like to make plain, classic food. If I do, (if I have to) I prefer it to be the best of the best, of  gourmet status.  This particular night, my mom had planned to make tacos with some local organic ground beef. But I wasn’t in the ‘mood’ for a plain-o taco, so I decided to go  the salad route.

And to suite my gourmet style, I deconstructed the typical taco into single elements- and I have to say, quite beautifully.

Zucchini Salsa, Avocado slices, Salsa Verde, Red Salsa, Black Beans, and the MEAT, topped with some Colby Jack. Like a picture, it was bordered by tortilla pieces.

Although the presentation takes the stage, the meat itself definitely deserves recognition as the Meatiest Tasting Meat I’ve had in a loonng time! Seriously, the typical ground beef found at the store has little flavor, but this meat was hardy, packed with boldness, as if to say, “I’m real meat!”

Just a little more about the farm… Polyface, inc. is a “family owned, multi-generational, pasture-based, beyond organic, local-market farm.” We purchased multiple cuts of beef, pork, and chicken and have been superbly impressed with the taste. I think the beef is so wonderful because the cows are grass-fed. But isn’t that the way cows ought to be fed anyways?

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

