Crazy for Coconut

I love to cook obviously, but even more, I LOVE to bake!  Unfortunately, my family doesn’t enjoy overly decadent and delicious desserts as often as I would love to make them.

But that serves the QUESTION- ” Wouldn’t you go nuts for all the goods if you adore all things sweet?”

ANSWER- “Because I enjoy the process just as much as consumption, I find it easier to control myself with something I have made [this does NOT include taste testing!].  But because sweets are my absolute danger zone, I am try to be very conscious about my sugar intake.”

REASON- the more sugar a person consumes, the more they develop a sweet tooth. For me, this is crucial because I am already addicted at first bite! Hardly ever can I ever just have one Dove chocolate, or a bite of a cookie. OH NO! All my control flies out the window (I know, it’s bad!).  So, when I have dessert, I try to make it as healthy, low sugar, low calorie as possible, because I know I might just go back for one more bite….

SOOO, when I hear of someone’s one guilty pleasure to be a certain dessert, I jump on the opportunity to make it for them. After all, I enjoy making people happy :).  This time, our neighbor mentioned his lust for COCONUT MACAROONS. Truthfully, this was completely uncharted territory for me. What did one even look like? Research showed a dollop of slightly browned coconut pile with fluffy egg whites and condensed milk, making this surprisingly a low-fat dessert; well, it can be. But since this was not staying in arms reach, I went all out!

EXTRA CHEWY, GOOEY COCONUT MACAROONS (Ina Garten)

INGREDIENTS: (makes about 20 cookies)

14 ounces of Sweetened, Shredded Coconut

14 ounce can of Sweetened Condensed Milk

1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

2 Egg Whites

1/4 teaspoon Salt

INSTRUCTION:

1. Preheat oven at 325*.

2. Mix together Coconut, Sweetened Milk,  Vanilla in large bowl.

3. Using whisk on stand mixer, beat egg whites with salt for medium-firm peaks.

4. Gently fold in egg whites into coconut mixture.

5. Dollop by 2 tablespoons onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. Bake for 25 minutes (start checking around 20 minutes) until golden brown.

Try to choose a bag of coconut that has not be mushed down. They key to a tender cookie is keeping a nice fluffy texture.

Make sure to use a fork to prevent from compacting coconut into one big ball.

The fork’s hyped up about these cookies too!

Don’t be a tough cookie! Keep a hawk’s eye on them to prevent from overcooking.

For never had making Coconut Macaroons before, these were oh so gooey and chewy. After eating one of these, I didn’t even need to go back for another bite- I had plenty left stinking in my teeth!

Best of all, I brought them as a sweet surprise to my neighbor for the party where he enjoyed at least two throughout the night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

